Our Trust Board

How we are managed

AWP is led by a Trust Board which is made up of six Executive Directors (four voting Directors) and the Chief Executive, who together manage the Trust on a day-to-day basis. There are also seven Non-Executive Directors (including one Associate Non-Executive Director) and the Chair of the Board, who provide additional experience and an independent perspective.

The Board is responsible for the governance, leadership and strategic direction of AWP, ensuring that appropriate financial and human resources are in place to meet agreed objectives.

The Chair of the Board is Charlotte Hitchings. Our Chief Executive Officer is Dominic Hardisty.

You can find out more about the background, experience and expertise of the Trust Board members here:

Read more about our Non-Executive Directors 

Read more about our Executive Directors 

The Chief Executive is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Trust’s business. The Executive Directors, collectively known as the Executive Team, assist the Chief Executive in putting the strategy of the Board into practice and fully implementing it. Together, the Executive Team uses formal accountability and performance management frameworks to hold the organisation to account and to achieve the Board’s objectives.

Non-Executive Directors have a particular role in scrutinising how the strategy is implemented, paying close attention to statutory responsibilities and the delivery of the Trust’s contractual obligations.

Between Board meetings, directors are involved in development workshops and seminars to focus on specific matters such as horizon scanning, risk management, business planning, quality governance and organisational development.